Tomato Peach Caprese

peach caprese - final

We’ve had almost-daily rains here in South Louisiana, weaving with the usual summer burn into a humidity that’s hard to bear. I went for a run this weekend and felt like I was slogging across the ocean floor. On the other hand, summer means tomatoes. I can get behind some tomatoes.

Sliced thick with rosy drips, I’m happy to keep the seasoning light with just a sprinkle of salt and pepper, a loving drizzle of olive oil. But when I saw Iowa Girl Eats with a saturated, summery Peach Caprese Salad, I was happy to add a guest star to the plate.

Tomato Peach Caprese (inspired by Iowa Girl Eats)
Serves 2 as appetizer or light supper.

Ingredients
2 large tomatoes, thickly sliced
1 peach, pitted and thickly sliced crosswise
6 oz. fresh mozzarella, torn into large pieces
10–12 leaves fresh basil, chiffonade style
Kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper (to taste)
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

Method
To plate: Lay down tomatoes, followed by peach slices, then mozzarella and basil chiffonade. Season and drizzle with olive oil. Splash balsamic vinegar across the plate and serve.

Leave a comment